Kia Cadenza Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Kia cadenza
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 2016 cadenza from a repairable lot. On the window it listed it as a premium. I have searched the VIN n it has no information on it. It just sez it's a 2016 Cadenza n that's it.
Even on the new title it just sez cadenza. There is no limited, premium or luxury listed. How do I find out what it is?
7655
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
66 Posts
If the lower right edge of the trunk does not say SXL (Luxury), then it must be either a Technology or a Premium. Windshield says Premium, so I’d believe it.

BTW, what does “Repairable Vehicles” mean?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Oddball

·
Registered
2016 Kia cadenza
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Then is the premium the base package? I swear everywhere I look online it's different descriptions of what package is first. Idk but its damn irritating. Now why wouldn't the VIN list everything about the car. It doesn't even have the paint color listed?

A repairable vehicle is one that has been in a wreck or include, fresh water flood damage, recovered thefts, vandalism, collision damage, hail damage, fire damage and all types of insurance losses
Repairablevehicles.com is a place here in South Dakota that sells said vehicles.
Most of them come with a salvage title. But you get a nice car at a fraction of the price. I only paid 6k and had to put about a grand into it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
767 Posts
With the sunroof i presume you're Premium with Lux package. If you have the cooled seats and a rear window retractable visor, that's the Lux package. After that is the Lux with Tech, I think that adds the Electric parking brake and perhaps lane keep assist. Limited (SXL) would have the nicer quilted seats and the LED fogs, and I think 2016 would also have the surround view camera and the side fender chrome accent.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
66 Posts
Technology is Base Car
Premium is Mid Level Car
Limited is Top Level Car
 
  • Like
Reactions: Oddball

·
Registered
Joined
·
66 Posts
Just for the heck of it, I went into their website. They show the damage on the cars for sale.


What was the damage on your Cadenza?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
66 Posts
Also, in looking at that website, many of their “repairable” cars don’t look they can be driven. How do they get the cars to their location? Also, after buying, how do customers get the cars to repair shops?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
125 Posts
Technology is Base Car
Premium is Mid Level Car
Limited is Top Level Car
I think you have it a bit mixed.
They started with just Premium & Limited, then they added Technology as an option pack on the Premium. I think it was the '17 redesign where the Technology became a separate trim.
Premium = Base
Technology = Base + Tech package (sunroof & other goodies)
SX-L = Limited (top tier)

When I bought mine (used), it was listed as a Premium, but it has SX-L on the trunk, + pano sunroof, + digital dash, + heated & cooled front seats, & heated rear seats, + electronic parking brake, + retracting rear sunshade, + power mirrors w/ reverse tilt, and probably a half-dozen other things I forget.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
125 Posts
Correcting myself: It looks like they did add a Base trim in 2016, but that's separate from the Technology package that's an add-on to the Premium trim.

In 2017 they dropped the Base again, offering Premium, Technology, Limited.
Base was only offered in 2016.

For 2020 they dropped the Premium, leaving just Technology & Limited
 

·
Registered
2016 Kia cadenza
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
I was able to drive mine home the day I bought it. I'd assume most ppl would trailer or have the vehicle shipped. I've attached a photo of the car. I just had to replace the front bumper, passenger fender and both inner fender liners. As there was no structural damage. I bought a used bumper with everything on it.
7656
 

·
Registered
2016 Kia cadenza
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I don't get why I can't just pull all the specs of the car from the "vin"? I mean, I thought that is the main purpose of the VIN?
 

·
Registered
2016 Kia cadenza
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
It sez there is only one grey/silver paint color option. The parts i order are the silver but my car is a lighter silver. I will post a picture in the morning. A guy down the street from my mom have a 16 cadenza and it's the same grey as the parts I ordered. Is the snow white pearl, white or silver? I thought mine was the silky silver metallic. Unless the platinum graphite is just a shade darker the the silky silver?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
My 2016 Kia Cadenza SXL has literally everything on it, and it's the "Limited". They didn't start calling it that until they released the 2017s. If it doesn't have the SXL tattooed on the middle right side of her ***, you know it is a Premium.
To make it a bit more clear, here is a complete breakdown of all the packages for the year, and what is and isn't in them. https://www.cars.com/research/kia-cadenza-2016/specs/usc60kic151a0/
An easy way to tell which one it is would be how many USB ports you have. The base model has zero, premium has 1, and the Limited has 2. None of the packages for 2016 have additional ports you can add, so that count gives you an obvious answer as to what trim it is. :)
 

·
Registered
2016 Kia cadenza
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
My 2016 Kia Cadenza SXL has literally everything on it, and it's the "Limited". They didn't start calling it that until they released the 2017s. If it doesn't have the SXL tattooed on the middle right side of her ***, you know it is a Premium.
To make it a bit more clear, here is a complete breakdown of all the packages for the year, and what is and isn't in them. https://www.cars.com/research/kia-cadenza-2016/specs/usc60kic151a0/
An easy way to tell which one it is would be how many USB ports you have. The base model has zero, premium has 1, and the Limited has 2. None of the packages for 2016 have additional ports you can add, so that count gives you an obvious answer as to what trim it is. :)
I've only got one USB port
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top