Auto AC Problem - Kia Cadenza Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-11-2014, 02:16 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glendale,az
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Auto AC Problem

Has anyone had a problem with the Auto AC?
Wife and I took an 1824 mile trip from Glendale Arizona up the Calif. coast to San Francisco and back. 6 hours in to the trip I had sweat running off my glasses and down the back of my neck. Auto AC turned the fan down to the lowest setting. It was 106 and couldn't till it gets to 98 or 99the car cool. Turned AC off for 5 minutes and then back on worked for 2 or 3 minutes then lowered fan to useless again. This played over and over. I was able to turn the AC on and control the fan manually, but had to turn fan up and down as needed. Pain in the butt. We finally cut our vacation short and came home. The AC now works until it gets to 98 or 99 then cuts out after 2 hours driving. Only 7200 miles and will take it in to have it checked tomorrow.. Dealer will probably tell me they can't duplicate the problem and I will have the same thing happen next trip. Will work now for a short trip then after about 2 hours cuts out.
gene is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-11-2014, 05:26 PM
Junior Member
 
Emdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Okc
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Interesting, same thing happened to my friends taking my car to KC (about 6 hr drive) a couple of weeks ago, exact same thing, we attributed it to my friends iphone kept buzzing when he plugged it in, on the way back, nothing plugged in and worked flawlessly. Please let us know what your dealer finds out.
Emdub is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-11-2014, 07:07 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glendale,az
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Will post out come of service visit
gene is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-14-2014, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glendale,az
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Got back from dealer today on the AC problem. They were unable to get the AC problem to show up. I explained to them that it only happened when it was really hot out ,106 is hot . It also only happened after running for 2 hours or more. So quess I will have to wait till next trip, Then stop at a kia dealership and not turn the car off before they check it out.
gene is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-15-2014, 02:29 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Longtime lurker, potential buyer.

Wonder if it is freezing up and/or the condensation drain is plugged??
gizzsdad is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-15-2014, 10:08 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glendale,az
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
I thought it might be freezing, but I can still operate it on manual. It is only the auto mode that the fan stops working.
gene is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-17-2014, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
carz0159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to carz0159
It seems like some sensor. Wonder what it is. I would think that the sensor malfunctions in the heat.

2004 Acura TL - Redondo Red Pearl (Retired)

2012 Mazda CX-9 GT AWD - Liquid Silver Metallic

2014 Kia Cadenza Premium w/ Luxury & Tech Packages - Snow White Pearl

2016 Ford Mustang Ecoboost Premium Performance Package 6M - Race Red
carz0159 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-17-2014, 08:48 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glendale,az
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
sensor or control unit, but kia will not replace unless I can take it to them when it is acting up
It will do it on our next trip.
gene is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2016, 04:37 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I was helping by AC SERVICE CYPRESS to troubleshoot non-functioning AC in her 2008 Volvo S60. I determined that the AC relay is functional but for whatever reason the computer isn't ever sending the signal to activate the compressor (the signal going to the relay holds at a steady 9.5V regardless of the AC setting). By replacing the relay with a jumper I was able to show that the AC system does in fact work. A mechanic had previously determined that there was no problem with the refrigerant levels and that the problem was electrical, but the engine compartment appears to be too compact for me to access the pressure switches.
Sheldonsmith is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 10:06 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
That's really great then you have found the mechanic that can help in resolving the lock issues. Finding local air conditioning companies in advance and using them in future is a great way to secure yourself from emergency ac issues.
SteveGranger is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome