Smart key case - Kia Cadenza Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-10-2020, 02:56 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Smart key case

I ordered a new case from amazon and i was wondering if the case is smart or is just the case . When it comes and I insert the key onto the key slot do all the control buttons then work ( lock, unlock, trunk and alarm) or does the new case need reprogramming?
funnyman7915 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-10-2020, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
sh30469's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Are you asking about a new fob, kinda like the ones they sell from K5OS or from the dealer? If so then I'm pretty sure you have to take it to a dealer to get it programmed correctly. As of right now it will just read like a bunch of zeros, kind of like getting another remote for your garage door.

2014 Kia Cadenza, Metallic Bronze and Beige, Lux Package

Leased 3/1/14
Purchased 1/28/17

Additions:
-Full Korean K re-badge
-Ultra Racing Performance front strut tower bar
-Racing sport pedals

Cadenza products available at: https://www.k5optimastore.com/collec...denza-products
sh30469 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 11:33 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
I'm thinking ( not an easy feat these days) I took my key out of the case and the fob did not work so it stands to reason that the actual key holds the secret sauce
funnyman7915 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 12:46 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glendale,az
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Here in the USA the case needs programming.
You may be able to find a locksmith who has the
programmer, it would be cheaper than having the
dealership do it.
Unless you are on friendly terms with the dealership
Did you try replacing the battery in the case?
That is the usual problem when they stop working
gene is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 01:59 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
HI Gene happy new year .Its not the battery the key keeps on falling out so I assume the inside locking mechanism is wearing down anyways I will see when it arrives and report back .
funnyman7915 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2020, 12:58 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glendale,az
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Funnyman
Has the snow melted back far enough for you to be on the road yet?
Have a happy New Year.
Oh yes we have been having really bad weather here in Glendale,AZ area
It was only in the high 60's the other day.
gene is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2020, 01:50 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
we had a large snowfall yesterday The snow wasn't the problem it was the rain the day before froze then it snowed so lots of slippery streets . My heart goes out to you for the high 6-0's
funnyman7915 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2020, 12:06 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glendale,az
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Drive careful, I know how the roads are in those conditions.
I lived in Syracuse, NY most of my life
gene is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 08:48 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Purchased my 16" used with only one key. Ordered a new FOB online (Kia Factory Parts Online I think) and took it to Batteries Plus and they programmed it for $50.00. I have had no problems with it in over a year (I have even washed it several times and it still works). The Smart Key and programming cost me around $150.00. Dealer wanted $300 for the Smart Key and programming.
RAM 16 Cadenza is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 03:00 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM 16 Cadenza View Post
Purchased my 16" used with only one key. Ordered a new FOB online (Kia Factory Parts Online I think) and took it to Batteries Plus and they programmed it for $50.00. I have had no problems with it in over a year (I have even washed it several times and it still works). The Smart Key and programming cost me around $150.00. Dealer wanted $300 for the Smart Key and programming.
the difference is I have the smart key but my fob case is wearing out
funnyman7915 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome