New owner, a couple questions - Page 2 - Kia Cadenza Forum
User Tag List

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-26-2016, 12:38 PM
Member
 
tbrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: The Triangle, NC
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyCanuck View Post
The nav system 'Confirm' message was fixed display in the original version of the UVO sw/firmware when I got the car. I upgraded to a newer version and it goes away after a time. Yes, the upgrade costs but there are also other 'issues' that get fixed.

In the latest, V10, there is:
- improved voice recognition
- enhanced phone compatibility and audio function

And you can now download the update to your own SD card instead of ordering it and having it shipped.
What does enhanced audio function mean? Any idea?

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
tbrm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-26-2016, 02:13 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glendale,az
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by K5 Optima Store View Post
Welcome to the forum community!!

I wish there was a mod we could come out with to remove having to agree with the navigation each time the car starts.

Unfortunately, it never goes away on my K900, unless you press the agree button. What a complete PITA.

If there are any parts you are looking for to help personalize your ride, let us know.

David

David
Does your confirm still stay on?
Mine on the K900 goes out after about 10 sec.
Just like on the Cadenza with map update
gene is offline  
post #13 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-26-2016, 07:22 PM
Supporting Vendor
 
K5 Optima Store's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene View Post
David
Does your confirm still stay on?
Mine on the K900 goes out after about 10 sec.
Just like on the Cadenza with map update
Yes it does, not sure if there is an update for my K900 maps though.

I will have to check when I bring it in for it's next service.
K5 Optima Store is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-26-2016, 09:00 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glendale,az
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Mine goes out after kia did the update for me.
map version after the update is V10
was worth the update just to have the confirm
go away by itself
gene is offline  
post #15 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-27-2016, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMax View Post
Yeah, I replaced the horns right away. Actually has 3. I replaced the two main horns with upgrades, then moved the low tone over to the chirp horn that goes off with the alarm arm.


Also, I got some neoprene felt and lined the inside of the door pockets...one of my peeves that stuff gets to moving around and makes noise at every stop and go. You learn to get the things that piss you off and fix them.

The one I can't stand though, if the car is running and the passenger doors are locked, I can't unlock it with the remote. That one still pisses me off, even though it rarely get's me. But when it does, I'm pissed. What if there was a hostile kid in the car and you were trying to get them out to beat, I mean talk some sense into him!?!
Can you just not use the unlock switch or am I missing something
funnyman7915 is offline  
post #16 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-27-2016, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene View Post
Mine goes out after kia did the update for me.
map version after the update is V10
was worth the update just to have the confirm
go away by itself
That's why I sold my K900 and moved to the Cadenza as it does go out I guess mine came with a later version ( not really )
funnyman7915 is offline  
post #17 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-27-2016, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by funnyman7915 View Post
Can you just not use the unlock switch or am I missing something

Sure, I have to remember to do it when I get out of the drivers side. Otherwise if I'm already at the passenger side, there is no way to unlock the car with the remote if the car is running. Can't hit the button on the door or the fob. I've never had a keyless remote car that didn't let me unlock a running car's passenger side with the remote or door button over there.
MadMax is offline  
post #18 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-28-2016, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMax View Post
Sure, I have to remember to do it when I get out of the driver side. Otherwise, if I'm already at the passenger side,, there is no way to unlock the car with the remote if the car is running. Can't hit the button on the door or the fob. I've never had a keyless remote car that didn't let me unlock a running car's passenger side with the remote or door button over there.
Well I did try using the remote while the car is running and I agree it does not work,Having said that I still don't understand when I would ever do that and if I could turning off the car or using the unlock function does not seem all that time consuming .
funnyman7915 is offline  
post #19 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-28-2016, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
I don't see why it shouldn't work...no security reason that makes sense. I mean if they wanted this thing to be secure, how come I can walk away from the car while it's running with the key in my pocket, and someone inside can still put it into gear and drive off? For me that's a huge problem. Also can't lock the doors from the outside while it is running, drivers door stays locked. It's the only car manufacture I've ever seen do this, and it makes no sense.
MadMax is offline  
post #20 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-28-2016, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMax View Post
I don't see why it shouldn't work...no security reason that makes sense. I mean if they wanted this thing to be secure, how come I can walk away from the car while it's running with the key in my pocket, and someone inside can still put it into gear and drive off? For me that's a huge problem. Also can't lock the doors from the outside while it is running, drivers door stays locked. It's the only car manufacture I've ever seen do this, and it makes no sense.
I dont disagree with you but it is not my line in the sand
funnyman7915 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome