Backup camera replacement - Kia Cadenza Forum
User Tag List

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-25-2019, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Backup camera replacement

Anyone know how to replace the stock backup camera on a 2014 cadenza or have pictures? I've never replaced a camera before and not the best at troubleshooting wiring issues. I think it is time to replace mine as it has been flickering on and off for a few months and now it has stopped displaying all together. When in reverse nothing displays on the navigational unit. Everything else with the head unit works perfectly. I am out of the warranty period so I rather buy the part and do it myself if it isn't too difficult.
87GT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
sh30469's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
There was a TSB on this issue. I'd contact the Cadenza preferred line and see if you can get it taken care of for free since it was a known issue.

2014 Kia Cadenza, Metallic Bronze and Beige, Lux Package

Leased 3/1/14
Purchased 1/28/17

Additions:
-Full Korean K re-badge
-Ultra Racing Performance front strut tower bar
-Racing sport pedals

Cadenza products available at: https://www.k5optimastore.com/collec...denza-products
sh30469 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-27-2019, 07:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
If the grid lines are displayed when you put it in reverse then it's the camera, which sounds like it was originally the issue. As sh30469 stated, there is a TSB on the camera itself because they get water in them and KIA will pay to replace. I've had mine replaced once and the second time I ended up taking the camera and blowing it out with compressed air which resolved the issue. Now I'm having issues with the display going out completely when in reverse (no grid lines) which Cadenza preferred customer service said was the AVN, which is only covered up to 36,000 miles. It will stop working for a day then come back on so I haven't taken it to the dealer for replacement under the extended warranty.
Passive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-28-2019, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
sh30469's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
I had an issue where my display was acting up as well, Kia had it for about a week before they narrowed down the problem. It was some $12k part inside the infotainment system. It was the last thing they tried because of how expensive it was.

2014 Kia Cadenza, Metallic Bronze and Beige, Lux Package

Leased 3/1/14
Purchased 1/28/17

Additions:
-Full Korean K re-badge
-Ultra Racing Performance front strut tower bar
-Racing sport pedals

Cadenza products available at: https://www.k5optimastore.com/collec...denza-products
sh30469 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-01-2019, 12:23 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I will call Kia and see if they can help but I'm at 73k miles so out of warranty. There are no lines showing on the display nothing just black screen. If I was to turn on the radio or change HVAC settings it will show up on the banner at the top but zero display where the camera would display when in reverse.
Passive likes this.
87GT is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-25-2019, 08:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87GT View Post
I will call Kia and see if they can help but I'm at 73k miles so out of warranty. There are no lines showing on the display nothing just black screen. If I was to turn on the radio or change HVAC settings it will show up on the banner at the top but zero display where the camera would display when in reverse.
Did you find anything out from KIA?
Passive is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-26-2019, 12:30 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Passive View Post
Did you find anything out from KIA?
Yes I called Kia and they wanted me to take the car into a dealer service area for troubleshooting. They didn't really say it was related to a TSB I mentioned or anything else. I haven't done this yet as they won't pay for it. I will do it next time I need something else replaced or repaired.
87GT is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-27-2020, 07:46 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87GT View Post
Anyone know how to replace the stock backup camera on a 2014 cadenza or have pictures? I've never replaced a camera before and not the best at troubleshooting wiring issues. I think it is time to replace mine as it has been flickering on and off for a few months and now it has stopped displaying all together. When in reverse nothing displays on the navigational unit. Everything else with the head unit works perfectly. I am out of the warranty period so I rather buy the part and do it myself if it isn't too difficult.
I just wanted to say that I've had my '14 for almost 2 years and have hyper-miled it to around 146,000 miles. The reason I'm telling you this is because in those miles I've had to replace TWO backup cameras and the one I have in there currently needs to be replaced. Bringing my total of back up cameras replaced for my car to THREE. So the one from factory had to be replaced and now the one they replaced that with has stopped working. Everything in my infotainment system works including my parking sensors EXCEPT my backup camera so it's not the infotainment system itself.

I work at a Kia dealership and the techs just say that Kia knows that these cameras are crap and will stop working once they get some water inside them. I've contacted Kia directly and they say that there is really nothing they can do even though this is my third camera in little under two years. They covered my replacement of the first factory camera because my car was under warranty but the once after this one doesn't qualify because it's past their 12 month, 36,000 mile part warranty. I could get that wrong but I'm well past either of those anyway.

If you don't plan on keeping it that long I would recommend you fix it but if you're going to drive it for a while be prepared to replace it a few times...it's about $400 to replace and that's with my employee discount so it can get really spendy fast.
jascherbring is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-28-2020, 10:22 AM
Junior Member
 
joegr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jascherbring View Post
I just wanted to say that I've had my '14 for almost 2 years and have hyper-miled it to around 146,000 miles. ...

You keep saying this, and I think that you mean you have put a lot of miles on it, but that's not what hypermile means at all.


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hypermiling
joegr is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-28-2020, 10:53 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by joegr View Post
You keep saying this, and I think that you mean you have put a lot of miles on it, but that's not what hypermile means at all.


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hypermiling
Fine....whatever. I put a lot of miles on my car in a short amount of time. Pretty sure you knew what I meant anyway. My point being that my car has a lot of miles and I can tell you what problems I've had that some people haven't encountered yet since some have lower miles.
joegr likes this.
jascherbring is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome