How to: Wire Fog lights as DRL's (SXL) - Kia Cadenza Forum
User Tag List

 8Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-15-2014, 02:50 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
How to: Wire Fog lights as DRL's (SXL)

How to: Wire Fog lights as DRL's (SXL)

I can now run with only the fogs on or I can run with fogs, the LED strip (not sure what it is called) and parking lights with no headlights.
With the switch on OFF or AUTO, only the fogs are on outside in the daylight.

Disclaimer: This guide is for information only. What you do or have done to your vehicle is your responsibility. I cannot be held responsible for any issues related to this How to.
Click on the small pictures in the steps to link to the bigger picture.

Thanks to Theil24 for providing the picture of the Cadenza with the fuse box and wiring information.

Let's get started.
Tools: Phillips screwdriver, wire cutters, barrel crimper (if you use barrel connectors), electrical tape, add-a-circuit, 2x10 amp fuses, wire loom, wire and maybe some other stuff I cannot remember.
  1. (OPTIONAL) Jack up the passenger (or driver) side of the vehicle to allow more more room under the front fog light.
  2. Remove two plastic screws holding the plastic guard to allow access to the fog light plug.
  3. Unplug fog light plug by pressing down on the top of the plug and pulling it out.
  4. Remove electrical tape from around the wire loom and pull the red wire out of the loom.
  5. Use whatever method you want to:
    • Cut the red wire
    • Protect/cover/seal the red wire on the opposite end of the plug that you just cut. This could become hot and you don't want it touching anything or getting wet.
    • Connect new wire to the red wire you just cut, on the plug side. Make sure you have enough wire to run it to the fuse box which ever way you want.
    • Run the new wire to the fuse box but do not connect it to anything.
    • Cover the new wire with wire loom or similar to protect it from chaffing or heat.
  6. Replace fog light plug into the fog light.
  7. Replace two plastic screws in the guard under the fog light.
  8. (OPTIONAL) Lower car and remove jack.
  9. Repeat steps 1-8 on drivers side
  10. Connect the two new wires from the fog lamps to the barrel (or other) end of the add-a-circuit.
  11. Insert two 10 amp fuses into add-a-circuit and install add-a-circuit into the open fuse holder in fuse box.

This should complete the installation.
Make sure all wires are protected.
Turn the car on and test the fog lights.
A few pictures from to show how my wiring looks:
Might be hard to see, but I have it zip tied, you can see the white zip tie above and to the right of the coolant reservoir.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg car.jpg (70.5 KB, 179 views)
File Type: jpg leftside2.jpg (64.1 KB, 135 views)
File Type: jpg rightside.jpg (71.3 KB, 123 views)
File Type: jpg fusebox.jpg (87.9 KB, 154 views)
File Type: jpg guard.jpg (54.6 KB, 129 views)
File Type: jpg fogwire.jpg (33.9 KB, 139 views)
Beezwax and Yooshaw like this.

Last edited by MacDogg; 06-15-2014 at 02:52 PM.
MacDogg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-16-2014, 01:13 AM
Supporting Vendor
 
K5 Optima Store's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
K5 Optima Store is offline  
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-16-2014, 08:37 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks for the installation instructions MacDogg!! I'm guessing this is reversible for when I return my leased vehicle. I would just have to reconnect the red wires at the fog light before I turn in the vehicle?
rmartinez05 is offline  
 
post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-16-2014, 10:13 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmartinez05 View Post
Thanks for the installation instructions MacDogg!! I'm guessing this is reversible for when I return my leased vehicle. I would just have to reconnect the red wires at the fog light before I turn in the vehicle?
Absolutely. I will be in the same boat in three years, too.
MacDogg is offline  
post #5 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-18-2014, 09:38 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDogg View Post
Absolutely. I will be in the same boat in three years, too.
Hey @MacDogg, I'm going to try and do this, but I am no electrician!! I'm ordering parts online to pickup at Autozone. What gauge wire do we have to use to run from the fog light to the fuse box? Did you use an ATC or ATM (don't know the difference) add-a-circuit fuse tap? What size butt connector comes out of the add-a-circuit?

Sorry for all the questions!
rmartinez05 is offline  
post #6 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-18-2014, 10:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmartinez05 View Post
Hey @MacDogg, I'm going to try and do this, but I am no electrician!! I'm ordering parts online to pickup at Autozone. What gauge wire do we have to use to run from the fog light to the fuse box? Did you use an ATC or ATM (don't know the difference) add-a-circuit fuse tap? What size butt connector comes out of the add-a-circuit?

Sorry for all the questions!
I used a Cooper Bussmann/ATM fuse tap from Autozone. I had some wire already in my toolbox and used that and I do not know the gauge wire it was, my best guess was 14 as it was a little larger than the fog wires.
The butt connector on the end of the add a circuit...I would guess is 14-16 since I have a small container of them that are blue and it says 14-16.
MacDogg is offline  
post #7 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-23-2014, 08:45 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDogg View Post
I used a Cooper Bussmann/ATM fuse tap from Autozone. I had some wire already in my toolbox and used that and I do not know the gauge wire it was, my best guess was 14 as it was a little larger than the fog wires.
The butt connector on the end of the add a circuit...I would guess is 14-16 since I have a small container of them that are blue and it says 14-16.
@MacDogg... thanks again for the help! It all worked out. Didn't use an add-a-circuit. Just wrapped the wires around a 20amp fuse and stuck it in the slot!! Works as advertised!!
Beezwax and MacDogg like this.
rmartinez05 is offline  
post #8 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-20-2014, 12:34 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Hi; What is 'add-a-circuit' Is It a part that I can buy at the auto store..?

thanks
Jeff
radar124 is offline  
post #9 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-21-2014, 01:29 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Hi; I have a question. When you say to cut the red wire on the plug side, Is that the wire running back to the fuse box???

thanks..Jeff
radar124 is offline  
post #10 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-21-2014, 09:30 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Question fogs/high beams

Hi; sorry, just one more question. With the lights wired this way, do the fogs shut off when you use your high beams... thanks

radar124 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome